

Office of the Academic Senate • One Washington Square • San Jose, California 95192-0024 • 408/924-2440 • ATSS 8/556-2440

SM-S89-3

At its meeting of April 17, 1989, the Academic Senate approved the following Senate Management Resolution presented by Cecilia Mullen for the Organization and Government Committee. The motion modifies three existing Policy Committees as follows:

1. Instruction and Research Committee to become INSTRUCTION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE. The new charge for the committee will read: "Responsible for all matters relating to instruction and to student affairs, including recruitment, admission, retention, academic status, educational equity, rights and responsibilities."

The following Operating Committees will report to the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee:

Academic Fairness Committee
Admissions Advisory Committee
Improvement of Instruction Committee
International Programs and Students Committee
Outstanding Professor Awards Committee
Retention Advisory Committee
Student Evaluation Review Board
Student Honors Committee

Membership:

Dean of Student Services

AAVP/Undergraduate Studies

Associated Students, Office of President

Associated Students, Director of Academic Affairs

Two Student Senators

Student-at-large

One Faculty Member from each Representative Unit

2. The Curriculum Committee to become CURRICULUM AND RESEARCH COMMITTEE. Its new charge will read: "Responsible for all matters relating to curriculum and research and for development of an academic master plan."

The following Operating Committees will report to the Curriculum and Research Committee:

Continuing Education Committee
Graduate Studies Committee
Institutional Review Board—Human Subjects
Library Committee
Research Committee
Sabbatical Leave Committee
Teacher Education Committee
Undergraduate Studies Committee

Membership:

AAVP/Graduate Studies and Research
AAVP/Undergraduate Studies
AAVP/Educational Planning and Resources
Student Senator
One Faculty Member from each Representative Unit

3. The Financial and Student Affairs Committee to become PLANNING, SAFETY, AND FINANCE COMMITTEE. Its new charge will read: "Responsible for long-range planning, campus safety, physical planning, plant management, and resource allocation priorities."

The following Operating Committees will report to the Planning, Safety, and Finance Committee:

Advisory Committee on Public Information
Budget Review Committee
Campus Ecology and Landscape Committee
Campus Opinion Poll Committee
Campus Planning Committee
Lottery Funds Committee
Public Safety Committee (new)
Enrollment Planning Committee (new)

Membership:

AEVP/Business Affairs
AEVP/Facilities Development and Operation
AAVP/Educational Planning and Resources
Student Senator
One Faculty Member from each Representative Unit