SAN JOSÉ STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSÉ, CA 95192

Amendment B to University Policy S18-15, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Committee (ADAPC)

Legislative History:

At its meeting of November 16, 2020, the Academic Senate approved the following policy recommendation presented by Senator Sasikumar for the Organization and Government Committee. The charge and membership information for the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Committee were updated in 2018 and that policy (S18-15) rescinded previous policies: S01-2, F01-1. Amendment A to University Policy S18-15 was signed and approved by President Mary A. Papazian on April 15, 2019. Amendment A clarified the appointment of Co-chairs.

ACTION BY UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

Approved and signed by Mary A. Papazian, President, San José State University on March 18, 2021.

Amendment B to University Policy S18-15 Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Committee (ADAPC)

Amends: University Policy S18-15

Effective: Fall 2020

Whereas: The Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Committee has proposed

changes to its charge and membership, and

Whereas: SJSU's attention to issues surrounding health and wellness highlights the

importance of providing the campus with a resource that can support and facilitate efforts to provide education and support services in the areas of

alcohol and drug abuse, and

Whereas: A special agency is particularly well suited to service that brings together

knowledgeable individuals who can inform the work of the committee as

well as convey information to their respective programs, and

Whereas: Members with expertise and direct engagement with campus programs

and initiatives in the areas of alcohol and drug abuse are needed for

effective outreach and communication, therefore be it

Resolved: That the Assistant Director of International Student Services (ISS) be

replaced with the International Programs Manager (IPM) in International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS), whose work directly intersects with

the goals and mission of this committee.

Approved: October 19, 2020

Vote: 12-0-0

Present: Altura, de Bourbon, Grosvenor, Higgins, Jimenez, Maciejewski,

McClory, Millora, Okamoto, Sasikumar, Thompson, Taylor

Absent: None Financial Impact: None Workload Impact: None