## SAN JOSÉ STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSÉ, CA 95192

## S15-7, Amendment F, Retention, Tenure and Promotion for Regular Faculty Employees: Procedures Regarding Department **Chair Participation on RTP Committees**

### **Legislative History:**

On November 20, 2017, the Academic Senate approved the following policy recommendation presented by Senator Peter for the Professional Standards Committee. This proposal amends section 3.2.10 to University Policy S15-7.

Amends: S15-7

Approved and signed by President Mary A Papazian on November 29, 2017.

#### UNIVERSITY POLICY

## Amendment F to S15-7, Retention, Tenure and Promotion for Regular Faculty Employees: Procedures Regarding Department **Chair Participation on RTP Committees**

That S15-7 be amended as shown in the strikeout and underline of the following excerpt from the policy. Resolved:

This amendment is provoked by several issues that have been brought to the attention of the Professional Standards Committee during the transition to the new RTP policies. These amendments relate to a clause in the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) about the participation of Department Chairs on department RTP committees. For reference, that clause reads as follows: Rationale:

> 15.40 b. Department chairs may make separate recommendations. Such recommendations shall be forwarded to subsequent levels of review. If the chair makes a separate recommendation, s/he shall not participate as a member of the peer committee. (CBA, 2014-2017)

> First, the 1998 RTP policy was silent about who would chair a department RTP committee, leaving the matter to the discretion of the Committee. S15-7 designated that the Department Chair would chair the committee if serving as a member. In practice this is often the most convenient arrangement, since Chairs are generally responsible for supervising the process at the department level. However, it was brought to our attention that certain large departments prefer to elect chairs of their RTP committees other than their Department

Chair—in part to spread workload—in part to allow faculty who may be more senior and experienced to hold the job. Furthermore, this is particularly important in departments that have Associates as Chair of the Department.

Second, there has been ambiguity about whether Chairs MUST serve on an RTP committee if elected to it—thus forfeiting their right under the CBA to write a separate Chair's evaluation. This amendment removes that ambiguity by making it clear that the Chair may decline to serve on the committee. We believe this comports more closely with the CBA.

Third, the old policy required Department Chairs who were not serving on the committee to write a separate recommendation. The CBA says they "may." We bring the university policy into conformity with the CBA by using the word "may."

Approved: September 25, 2017

Vote: 8-0-1

Present: Chin, He, Marachi, Hamedi-Hagh, Kauppila, McKee, White, Peter,

Donahue

Absent: Kimbarow

Financial Impact: No direct impacts.

Workload Impact: No direct impacts except to shift workload from some Department Chairs

to other faculty.

## POLICY RECOMMENDATION Amending

# S15-7, University Policy, Retention, Tenure and Promotion for Regular Faculty Employees: Procedures

3.2.9 Department Chair participation. A Department Chair is eligible to serve on the department committee, and if elected to the committee the Chair of the Department shall serve as Chair of the committee and shall not write a separate Chair's recommendation. If the Chair is not elected to the department committee or if the Chair declines to serve on the committee then the Chair may shall write a separate recommendation. The Chair of the Department may participate in either capacity only if he/she is of sufficient academic rank as per 3.2.5. Such recommendations shall be forwarded to the college level along with the recommendations of the department committee and any responses to the departmental level recommendation(s) supplied by the faculty member.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .